Officially, it’s a race!

It’s an election in the Banff (5 candidates) and Canmore (6 candidates) Wards of Canadian Rockies Public Schools! Amanda Kelly was acclaimed in Exshaw. I am pleased to be in a field, here in Canmore,  of such qualified people. Although I am not acquainted with two of the folks who have submitted their nomination, I look forward to meeting them and hearing their points of view, concerns, ideas and takes on Public Education in the Bow Valley and beyond.

It is a sure bet they are advocates of democracy.

I listened to AIH on CBC this evening, reporting on the Afghanistan election. Never mind the rampant fraud: election workers, electoral officials and bystanders were beaten, kidnapped and killed. We are very lucky in Canada.

Voters, don’t take our democracy for granted. Get to know the candidates. Talk to others about the issues and personalities. Then, make your decision and exercise your franchise. You’ll be honouring all those around the globe who do not share the privilege.

About Esmé Comfort

My husband Jim and I moved to the Bow Valley in 1980, settling in Canmore in 1983. Both my children were born in Canmore and attended K -12 in Canadian Rockies Public Schools District (CRPS), French Immersion. For the past six years I served as vice-chair of the board. Alberta Government support to the CRPS Inspiring Hearts & Minds initiative created opportunities for provincial, national and international outreach. In the past I held positions on the Canmore Daycare Board, the preschool board, and various school councils/PACs; I served as president of the local chapter of Canadian Parents for French for five years and sat on the provincial board for two. I currently sit on the board of the Canmore Folk Music Festival, work full time at an events management firm and edit, copy-edit and proofread on contract. My husband and I ran a small main street business for 18 years: supply and install floor wall and window coverings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Officially, it’s a race!

  1. pat bruckmann says:

    Dear Esme,

    I’m so pleased that you are running again! Taking a public office, especially one like this, takes a vast amount of time and thought. I know that you will give this to the job, see its importance and listen carefully – to everyone who consults you. That is very hard, but I know, on the basis of over 30 years of friendship, that that is what you will do.

    Let me know the results, so that we can celebrate here in Toronto, pat

    • Pat – thanks for these kind words. Coming from a mentor and a friend, it is particularly meaningful. You are an exceptional teacher – much of what I learned about fine teaching came from those Chaucer tutorials… you made us all feel as if we were brilliant. And when I wasn’t brilliant, you made me feel as though I had the potential to be. Looking forward to our next three-hour lunch!

  2. Jerry Gore says:

    Hi Esme
    Many congratulations on taking such a positive and strong position as a School Board Trustee. I totally agree with your sentiments and views. Having climbed and worked in Pakistan and on the borders with Afghanistan since the late 80’s I can fully concur with you that we are all indeed very fortunate to live in such civilized and peaceful surroundings. The Western World is so different from the East and here in the West we all enjoy a liberty that we constantly take for granted. Yet it is one that the majority of the World will never have a chance to experience.
    Whilst travelling and climbing in Afghanistan carrying a mobile phone, cam corder and my digital camera I had in my possession more potential wealth than the people around me would never attain in their entire lives! I would often come across small family units lining the side of the road. Each group would typically comprise two parents and 2 to 3 small children (normally under the age of 8). All family members would work from sunrise to sunset breaking down a large collection of rocks into a larger pile of smaller stones. The coarse gravel would then be collected at the end of the week. For this labour the parents could afford to feed their family for the following week. They literally lived day to day and would gladly accept the equivalent of $2 in total that they were handed each week for their combined efforts.
    How humbling was it that whenever I passed such groups they would welcome me with smiling faces that bore no malice or resentment, no jealousy or hatred. They would often offer me some morsels of food (whatever they were eating at the time) and always some freshly brewed tea. Whatever they had they would share happily and openly with someone they would never likely meet again.
    I think of my own teenage daughters and their constant desire for material possessions and I think how important it is to continually try and teach them to appreciate and to value what they already have, rather than to always want more. And to always celebrate their own lives, their health, their friends, and their education. We must all at least try to teach our own children such lessons in life so that once they leave their school years behind they can make their own unique and valuable contribution in the World.
    Esme I wish you the best of luck and success for your third term elections. You have the right spirit, the right sentiments and above all you are one of the most caring people I have ever met. I know you will continue to make a difference to the lives of your students.
    Jerry Gore

    • Many thanks Jer, for your insight and encouragement. Although our families are separated these days by thousands of miles I look forward to the time we can sit down to share tea and conversation!

Leave a Reply

