Life-long learning, fine arts & connection

The last ten days have flown by. First up, for those of you passionate about the inclusion of the arts in the Public School curriculum, please consider attending a public meeting with Minister of Education Dave Hancock on Tuesday, January 25th, 2011 at 7 p.m. at Central Memorial High School Theatre, located at 5111 – 21st Street SW in Calgary.  This event is co-sponsored by the Calgary Board of Education and the Save Our Fine Arts  (SOFA) Committee. I plan to attend, along with fellow CRPS Trustees, Carol Picard and Arlene Rheaume. I’ll report back but if you want to lend your voice to this discussion, come along with us.

This past Wednesday, January 12th, saw the first meeting of the Community Education Network (CEN). Kim Bater, board chair of CRPS,  has an excellent comprehensive account of that initiative on his blog. This has the potential to transform governance practice in our school district and embrace the community beyond the closed circle of the board, administration and schools; this will translate to vital input for strategic planning. Very exciting.

I received two very intriguing and flattering invitations this week: one from a teacher, Joe Bower – for whom I have great respect – to do a guest post on his blog; the other from Shari Worobey, President – Canadian Rockies Science Fair Society, to participate as a judge for the March 24th event. Both of these took me by surprise, but both illustrate the power of social media to connect in unexpected and serendipitous ways.

I am accepting both invitations, hoping to meet the expectations of each. In the case of the educator-blogger: to craft something relevant, articulate and not deadly-dull to contribute to the always provocative and sometimes controversial content on his website, for the love of learning. In the case of the Science Fair, I am thrilled  to support this event that inspires our students and showcases their achievements and aspirations. I presume there will be very prescriptive guidelines for judging: my qualifications as a science maven are thin, to say the least. I often refer to “condensed water vapour” as “steam” and, in my universe, a pound of lead will always fall at a faster rate than a pound of feathers!

Both invitations are also about life-long learning… so I guess I have to walk the talk!


About Esmé Comfort

My husband Jim and I moved to the Bow Valley in 1980, settling in Canmore in 1983. Both my children were born in Canmore and attended K -12 in Canadian Rockies Public Schools District (CRPS), French Immersion. For the past six years I served as vice-chair of the board. Alberta Government support to the CRPS Inspiring Hearts & Minds initiative created opportunities for provincial, national and international outreach. In the past I held positions on the Canmore Daycare Board, the preschool board, and various school councils/PACs; I served as president of the local chapter of Canadian Parents for French for five years and sat on the provincial board for two. I currently sit on the board of the Canmore Folk Music Festival, work full time at an events management firm and edit, copy-edit and proofread on contract. My husband and I ran a small main street business for 18 years: supply and install floor wall and window coverings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life-long learning, fine arts & connection

  1. Brian Callaghan says:

    The Science Fair is supported by a $5,000 donation from the Canmore Rotary Club another example of community partnership. Many of the judges are Rotarians with an education background.

  2. Reid Reid says:

    Good for you! I try and embrace any chance to try something new and so must we all if we want kids to do the same. If you hear about a position for judging a pie baking contest feel free to give them my name!

Leave a Reply

