Differentiated learning & a pie chart I understand.

I am reflecting on many deep and important matters at the moment. I have several blog posts rumbling around in my brain. But until those have completed the necessary gestation period, another bit of fluff.

My good friend and former trustee colleague, Jane Neil (I like to call her “my little British friend”), and I perceive and digest information in different ways. I like words – bar graphs and pie charts are an enigma to me; these impenetrable (to me) illustrations have to be explained – in words. Jane gets the words – oh yes, she gets the words – but add a graphic: bingo time.

This got me thinking about the different learning styles exhibited just by our board members. One of our most useful sessions during board orientation was time spent trying to define each individual’s needs when learning. We are somewhat diverse – no doubt we present a challenge to our superintendent as he watches us process and respond to information in our unique ways. Ah, so many teaching and learning moments.

This reflection gave me a new appreciation of a teacher’s work. We are only seven. We are all adults. We are all there because we want to be there. Now look at a class of children.  Oh. My. Goodness. How do teachers do it – cope with all those personalities, personal circumstances, mental conditions, differing stages of physical and cognitive development? And multiply by three times our seven – at a minimum. Well, my mind boggles.

Meanwhile, here’s a pie chart, courtesy Laszlo Thoth as required by Creative Commons license, that I DO get.

About Esmé Comfort

My husband Jim and I moved to the Bow Valley in 1980, settling in Canmore in 1983. Both my children were born in Canmore and attended K -12 in Canadian Rockies Public Schools District (CRPS), French Immersion. For the past six years I served as vice-chair of the board. Alberta Government support to the CRPS Inspiring Hearts & Minds initiative created opportunities for provincial, national and international outreach. In the past I held positions on the Canmore Daycare Board, the preschool board, and various school councils/PACs; I served as president of the local chapter of Canadian Parents for French for five years and sat on the provincial board for two. I currently sit on the board of the Canmore Folk Music Festival, work full time at an events management firm and edit, copy-edit and proofread on contract. My husband and I ran a small main street business for 18 years: supply and install floor wall and window coverings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Differentiated learning & a pie chart I understand.

  1. Rose Reid says:

    Esme, I understand that pie chart!!! I was a challenge to teach and I feel so much admiration and gratitude for our teachers.

  2. Corina says:

    You ARE a life long learner (and a hungry one too)! Great post Esmé as usual. 🙂

Leave a Reply

