Interwebs, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

This video explains Google’s Art Project and is a fine illustration of why I love the internet: the potential it opens up for everyone. I know, people in the developing world don’t have computers – except when they do. The TED: Ideas Worth Spreading website is another reason I am held in the thrall of the internet.

Sometimes my children like to mock me – gently and affectionately, I tell myself. They find my enthusiasm for social media, and all things internet, convergence-related and   interactive, well,  goofy, but endearing.

“Hey moms, ” they’ll said “What’s the interwebs telling you today?” I look at them and, whatever I say,  what I am thinking is: “Where do I begin?”

Why just today, Valentine’s day, 2012, here’s some things from the interwebs:

  1. Put this: sqrt(cos(x))*cos(300x)+sqrt(abs(x))-0.7)*(4-x*x)^0.01, sqrt(6-x^2), -sqrt(6-x^2) from -4.5 to 4.5 into  a search engine and you get taken here
  2. On the Google homepage click on the “doodle” for a lovely little animation accompanied by the acclaimed crooner, Tony Bennett.
  3. Go to the National Film Board of Canada site for this sweetly romantic animated short.

Yes, these are just fun, trivial time-wasters. But these just provide a respite from the heart of what I find. I have access to multiple news feeds: print, images, audio and video – the original source material.  It is, at minimum, entertaining; sometimes it is transcendent.  And that’s just the one-way stuff. Never mind twitter, comments on blog forums and so on…

My old fossilized brain is keeping some its elasticity because of the stimulus I get from my computer, I am convinced of that. And isn’t it better that’s what I feel – to be a lifelong learner – than choosing to  retreat from this crazy world, wearing a tinfoil hat and muttering darkly about the way things used to be? At least that’s my message to my husband and kids.

So here is a virtual cupcake for you all from Communitea Café in my hometown. Perhaps one failing of the internet is you can’t actually take a bite from it…yet…

About Esmé Comfort

My husband Jim and I moved to the Bow Valley in 1980, settling in Canmore in 1983. Both my children were born in Canmore and attended K -12 in Canadian Rockies Public Schools District (CRPS), French Immersion. For the past six years I served as vice-chair of the board. Alberta Government support to the CRPS Inspiring Hearts & Minds initiative created opportunities for provincial, national and international outreach. In the past I held positions on the Canmore Daycare Board, the preschool board, and various school councils/PACs; I served as president of the local chapter of Canadian Parents for French for five years and sat on the provincial board for two. I currently sit on the board of the Canmore Folk Music Festival, work full time at an events management firm and edit, copy-edit and proofread on contract. My husband and I ran a small main street business for 18 years: supply and install floor wall and window coverings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

