Sentimental artifact is a lesson in teaching, or: Grandmotherhood and 30 and 60: still learning!

Today is the 30th birthday of my son, Beamer David Comfort. Beamer, facing his landmark date, mused on Facebook: “4 days left in my twenties! I guess I need to admit I am an adult,” to which someone else responded: “I think the baby gave you away.”

January 20 2013 037 January 20 2013 039

The shape of my life was certainly redefined at the birth of our grandson, Jack Eldon Comfort, not quite 10 weeks ago: I am a grandmother. I thought I was ready – I wasn’t. I’m not. Everything has changed. Today I am feeling sentimental and nostalgic – being on the verge of my 60th birthday is certainly part of that. And Beamer’s actual birth day was tumultuous and dramatic so I am always “verklempt” on this date. Happy birthday, Beamie!

January 20 2013 033

The art piece adjacent came to light at a Christmas purge/cleanup, at the behest of our kids. (Remarking on our decline into hoardership, they rolled up their sleeves and waded in, dragging us in with them.) Beamer said “I remember this.” I did also. It marked the beginning of the end of innocence about school, creativity and “the rules” for both of us.

The assignment, in Kindergarten, was to do a portrait of Dad; one that shows “who Dad is”. The unadulterated original was just the blue figure, sans gi-normous head. Underneath the later-added-on green blob at the right, was Beamer holding hands with his Pops, while the green blob on the left always represented the Christmas tree. Beamer’s dad and I thought it amazing and touching that part of “who Dad is”, for Beamer, was their relationship, their closeness. The teacher had a different reaction. The assignment was a picture of Dad, not Dad and child. She directed him to change the picture and follow the instructions. So the hydrocephalus head was appended and Beamer obscured. Most telling for me, was Beamer’s current take on this. While I lamented the imposed revision, Beamer said: “No, part of going to school is learning to follow instructions. I didn’t follow the instructions.” True enough…but educators need to be careful when trying to teach the lesson of self-discipline and rigour, not to achieve only compliance.

Lastly,  my New Year’s gift to you: take 20 minutes out to watch this TEDx talk by Jarrett J. Krosoczka: How a boy became an artist.  Settle in with the libation of your choice and be prepared to be inspired and uplifted by this gentleman. Take particular notice of the homage he pays to the influence that the love and care received from teachers had on his life and career.

About Esmé Comfort

My husband Jim and I moved to the Bow Valley in 1980, settling in Canmore in 1983. Both my children were born in Canmore and attended K -12 in Canadian Rockies Public Schools District (CRPS), French Immersion. For the past six years I served as vice-chair of the board. Alberta Government support to the CRPS Inspiring Hearts & Minds initiative created opportunities for provincial, national and international outreach. In the past I held positions on the Canmore Daycare Board, the preschool board, and various school councils/PACs; I served as president of the local chapter of Canadian Parents for French for five years and sat on the provincial board for two. I currently sit on the board of the Canmore Folk Music Festival, work full time at an events management firm and edit, copy-edit and proofread on contract. My husband and I ran a small main street business for 18 years: supply and install floor wall and window coverings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sentimental artifact is a lesson in teaching, or: Grandmotherhood and 30 and 60: still learning!

  1. Beth says:

    Congratulations on your new life role, grand person. Oh ya & purging too!
    Thx for TED link, will do on Tuesday. Stay tuned for a review.

Leave a Reply

